Why did dual durometer wheels disappear from street and park skateboarding?

Yesterday I was riding some unknown old 50mm wheels I found.
They had a hard blue core and what feels like a 90a ish outer durometer. They sucked! Slow and felt really weird. They made a squishy sound like when cheap wheels deform around the bearing under weight load.
Yet I see in softer durometer skate sports like long-boarding, roller skates and inline that just about everything is dual durometer or harder cored wheels.

Why did dual durometer fade from ALL street and park wheels?
I ride mostly stf in various sizes and have some spf60's for cement bowl so understand that dual durometer are not really necessary anymore with these new school formulas. But back in the day they must have had some benefit?
I'm fairly new to skating, even though I'm old and crusty, so wasn't rolling when dual durometer and little wheels were common.

What changed? Manufacturing costs? and the evolution of hard fast urethane's with better rebound and grip/slide characteristics?
I read some manufacturers were research and developing super-light plastic core park wheels,, so is there still a future for dual durometer in street and park? Or just for softer atf type wheels?

Comments

• edited February 2019
    autobahn still makes them they were always famous for them along with darkstar and momentum also makes them but i think it is just something that didnt catch on i always though it was kind of stupid
  • Powerflex do them too!

Basically cored wheels
  • edited February 2019
    Oh okay, so they never disappeared, how dumb of me. Since I have been skating just a few years, I thought they were a bigger thing that waned.

The cored wheels I have that are slow and squishy sounding look just like a powerflex wheel. I just aint seen cored wheels around NZ parks at all. I guess they all suck, not just mine.