Concussions? The end of modern sport?

Spate of media how scientists are coming out saying no under 12's to play contact sport.
Couple of top football [soccer] strikers/headerers dead from CTE in the news this week.

USA soccer authorities banned ALL under 10's from headers, nationwide. And moves 'a foot' to remove the header from the game altogether.

Not a good time to invest in sport stocks or related businesses like physiotherapy, football boots ....

I was thinking of doing a sports coaching course and positioning myself as a skate coach for adult absolute beginners, now maybe not.
I think skating will be forced to change, and flatground freestyle and other styles of skating may make a comeback.

With so many newbies buying a board, soon getting hurt then leaving the sport and taking their money with them, a de-powering of the how - to - skate imperative will keep these early quitters and their money in the industry longer.

I have CTE and struggled with learning mini ramp and pump track due to the up and down motions jostling my brain.
So I try to stick to plazas now.
However, I think mini ramp and pump track motions kind of detoxed the tau tangles in my melon as I dont get headache or next day fatigue like I used to. But then I hardly ride mini/pump now.

Luckily, I like old school freestyle as I'm 56 and grew up with it.
Nowadays, I enjoy watching Andy Anderson skating, and think his mashup of the old and new to maybe be a genesis for future trends in skateboarding.

Kids still love zooming on concrete on wooden toys and scooters, so how its done is important as the world turns and new research shows harms in the light of truth.

Anyone with children needs to think twice when it comes to sports and concussion.

It may even be said that extreme sports can/may/does over stimulate the brain, and offers more harm than good in the long run, even without injury :shock: